Saturday May 30 2020



In Full . . .

A handful of votes

Posted on May 03 2019 at 3:35:05

The Conservatives hung on to control of Bromsgrove Council by as few as 14 votes in the local elections as independents established firm foundations across village areas on both sides of the district.

Meanwhile, in Lickey Hills Ward, LibDem Janet King finally beat long-standing Tory councillor Kit Taylor by 484 to 374 votes after a number of attempts. Coun Taylor, also a county councillor, had held the seat or its equivalent since 2007.

The Conservatives’ overall victory by three seats came after their candidate, Philip Thomas, beat Labour’s Rory Shannon by one vote in Aston Fields and veteran Richard Deeming just held off the independent challenge from Rob Van Der Plank in Cofton by 24 votes (232-208).

Rubery South was also very close, with Labour’s Christine McDonald being pipped by Tory Adrian Kriss 352-323.

But the march of the independent vote was the most striking feature of the election as villagers registered their disillusionment with party politics in local government.

Charlie Hotham and Kate Van der Plank were runaway winners over the Conservatives in Barnt Green & Hopwood (898-196) and Alvechurch Village wards (840-104), while independent newcomer Annette English was the clear winner in a four-horse race for Alvechurch South.

With solid victories for independents Rachel Jenkins and Steve Colella in Hagley and Sue Baxter in Drakes Cross for Wythall Residents’ Association, the independents could form the official opposition at the district council with six seats.

Coun Van Der Plank told The Village: “The high turnout independents had was further evidence that voters are keen to embrace alternatives to the outdated two-party system.”

Barnt Green student Harrison Rone-Clark won the Rock Hill ward for Labour, meaning that, along with Coun Hotham, Barnt Green Parish Council now has two district councillors among its members.

Bromsgrove District Council line-up: Conservatives 17, Independents and Wythall Residents’ Association 6, Labour 5, LibDem 3. 

Click here for The Village View

Results in full:

Alvechurch South:
Trevor Charles BLAND (Conservative)   398
Alan Frederick COOPER (Labour)  54
Annette Barbara Louise ENGLISH (Independent)  563
Dean David PETTERS (Liberal Democrats)   50

Alvechurch Village:
Neil Graham HARRIS  (Conservative)  104
Louise Marie HUMPHRIES  (Labour)  46
Kathryn Jane VAN DER PLANK  (Independent) 840 

Aston Fields:
Rory James SHANNON  (Labour & Co-operative)  418
Philip Lister THOMAS  (Conservative) 419

Leah-Nani ALCONCEL (Liberal Democrats)  175
John Ralph ELLIS  (Labour)  211
Malcolm Adrian GLASS  (Conservative)  397 

Barnt Green & Hopwood:
Charles Anthony HOTHAM  (Independent)  898

Mary MARSH  (Conservative) 196

Belbroughton & Romsley:
Philip John BAKER  (Labour)  309
Karen Jane MAY  (Conservative)  1322  
Margaret Ann SHERREY  (Conservative)  1230  

Caroline THOMPSON  (Labour)  301

Bromsgrove Central:
Rita Lorraine DENT  (Conservative)  383
Jane ELLEGE  (Labour) 151
Siobhan Amy HUGHES  (Liberal Democrats)  536 

Catshill North:
Abdul Nadir JILANI  (Labour)  239
Jo-Anne TILL  (Conservative)  323 

Catshill South:
Julian Malcolm GRAY  (Green Party)  96
Sarah Anne MANSELL (Liberal Democrats)  42
Matthew James OSBORNE  (Labour)  97
Shirley Anne WEBB  (Conservative)  339 

Andrew Edward Siviter SHERREY  (Conservative)  142
Michael THOMPSON  (Labour) 469 

Cofton Hackett:
Richard John DEEMING  (Conservative)  232 

Gillian Ann HARVEY  (Green Party) 130
Antony Leslie MASLEN  (Labour)  91
Robin Patrick VAN DER PLANK  (Independent)  208
Sara Jane WOODHOUSE  (Liberal Democrats) 70

Drakes Cross:
Susan Jane BAXTER  (Wythall Residents’ Association)  460 

Kathryn Rebecca POWELL  (Conservative)  330

Hagley East:
Rachel JENKINS  (Independent)  727 

Cameron Paul Singh UPPAL  (Conservative)  219

Hagley West:
Steven Robert COLELLA  (Independent)  939 

Kyle DAISLEY  (Conservative)  267

Hill Top:
Luke Christian Ramsay MALLETT  (Labour)  681

Suzanne Lyth Morgan  (Conservative)  70

Adam David KENT  (Conservative) 490 

Marian Theresa LEYDON  (Labour)  81
Keith Charles YATES  (Wythall Residents’ Association)  295

Lickey Hills:
Janet Elizabeth KING  (Liberal Democrats)  484 

Christopher Brian TAYLOR  (Conservative)  374

Lowes Hill:
Brenda Elizabeth HENDERSON  (Labour)  236
Rodney James LAIGHT  (Conservative)  372
Rebecca Ann Louise STEVENS  (Liberal Democrats)  191

Rosalind Joy COOKE  (Labour)  160
Peter James HARVEY  (Green)  206
Helen Jayne JONES  (Conservative)  474

Jacqueline Lesley ALDERSON  (Conservative)  205
Robert James HUNTER  (Liberal Democrats)  675 

Andrew John Blackett BEAUMONT  (Conservative)  308 

Amy-Jane THOMPSON-LANCASTER  (Labour)  231

Rock Hill:
Del William Philip BOOTH  (Conservative)  246
Michael Milos MIHAILOVIC  (Liberal Democrats)  65
Harrison Daniel Norman RONE-CLARKE  (Labour)  337 
Dean Howard SMITH  (Independent)  94

Rubery North:
Faye Serena KENT  (Conservative) 259
Peter Michael MCDONALD  (Labour)  526 

Rubery South:
Stephen Alan CAPEWELL  (Independent) 144
Adrian David KRISS  (Conservative)  352
Christine Margaret MCDONALD  (Labour) 323
Kevin WHITE  (Green)  67

Sanders Park:
Maria Igorevna ANDROSOVA-MIDDLETON  (Conservative) 467 

Gemma Marie WEAVIS LONG  (Labour) 373

Susan Philippa DOUGLAS  (Labour) 277 

James Nicholas Thomas JARVIS  (Conservative)  253
Joshua William ROBINSON  (Liberal Democrats) 151

Samuel Marc EVANS  (Liberal Democrats)  159
David SKIDMORE  (Labour) 158
Caroline Joy SPENCER  (Conservative)  589 

Sarah Jane COURBET  (Independent) 179
Nicholas Richard HIND  (Liberal Democrats)  77
Sean Patrick SHANNON  (Labour) 129
Peter John WHITTAKER  Conservative 472 

Wythall East:
Helen Anne CLEAVER  (Wythall Residents’ Association) 345
Sarah Gail HESSION  (Conservative)  419
Hazel Jayne JONAS  (Liberal Democrats)  55

Wythall West:
Geoffrey Nicholas DENARO  (Conservative)  371 

Sandra Daisy DOCKER  (Liberal Democrats) 62
Stephen Richard PETERS  (Wythall Residents’ Association) 257
Katharine Susanna WILSHAW (Labour) 59

Return to Front Page