Tuesday September 17 2019



In Full . . .

Tories take by-election seats vacated by George Lord

Posted on December 16 2010 at 10:32:06

Coun June Griffiths
June Griffiths, of Bordesley, was declared the new Worcestershire County councillor for the Alvechurch division tonight after getting around half of the votes cast.

The Marlbrook ward on Bromsgrove District Council was taken by John Ruck in a close result. Both seats were vacated by the sudden resignation of former county leader George Lord. Both new councillors are Conservatives.

Only 1,215 people voted in the Alvechurch election - a turnout of 17 per cent - with Coun Griffiths getting 637 votes. The nearest contender was Christopher Bloore, for Labour, with the Lib Dem candidate, Howard Allen, pushed into fourth place on 83 votes by Independent Dee Morton, who received 157 votes.

UKIP candidate Steve Morson was last, with 65 votes, trailing Independent Ken Wheatley who picked up 79 votes.

It was much tighter for the Tories in Marlbrook where Coun Ruck polled 284 votes, just ahead of Labour’s Martin Knight on 236. Independent candidate Charlie Bateman came third with 138 votes and UKIP’s Steve Morson was fourth with 68, pipping the Lib Dem’s Janet King, of Blackwell, into fifth place on 67 votes.

The Green Party candidate, Peter Harvey, received 14 votes, while the Independent Ken Wheatley, of Alvechurch, managed just four.

The turnout in the Marlbrook poll was 24%, with 811 people voting.

Christmas poll
‘Tories would vote for a monkey’

Return to Front Page